Accessing the Manage Media interface


The Manage Media interface enables users to see listing of uploaded content and edit their share/listing properties and add them to existing or new playlists. To start, users need to log into NJVID using their credentials. Once logged in, users can follow the steps below to navigate to the media listing interface.


Select Admin Dashboard from the drop-down menu under the displayed user ID. 

 

 NJVID_-_Digital_Video_Repository_-_Google_Chrome_2013-12-05_14-22-30.png


 

The User will then be directed to Dashboard page displaying all the available user options. To view uploaded media content click on the 'Media' menu button.




The user will be directed to the Media pane which displays all uploaded/managed media that are available for the user. The type of content (video, audio, PDF, image) is denoted by the icon next to the media title.

 




Users can filter the listing from the 'Filter' menu. The listing lets the user filter content based on Date added, Creator, Media Type, and Published Status. 



To bulk edit media properties select one or multiple objects from the list.



Users can also select all the displayed objects by selecting them all from the Select All option.



Once an object is selected the Actions link is displayed and available to the user. This link lets the user manage certain of the media properties without going into the individual objects. 



Select the Actions link to view the available options. Each one of the options is described in detail below.





Modify search and listing permissions


Select the “Modify search and listing permissions” option. Using this option users can modify the search and listing permissions of up-to 100 (using the 'Show 100' and 'Select All' ) objects at a time. All settings that are applied will overwrite existing permissions. 



The following are the options available to the user:

· List media in public searches and listings: Select this option to make the media visible in collection listings, search results and others. Note that this does not change the view permissions on the media itself. The media is usually listed with title, description and thumbnails in various listings.

 

· List media in searches for authorized users only: Selecting this option will make the media visible in collection listings to those users who   have access to 'view' the media (i.e. access given by sharing media with that user/users or a group or institution). For example, if a media that is being uploaded has group "CS101" assigned to it, then all members of the CS101 group will find this media in their collection listing or search results if they search for that media.

 

·Unlist media from search and listings: The media is blacklisted from collection listings and search results.


Select Save to apply the new settings.